Latest Headlines More Headlines News Archive E-Zines Committee Meeting Minutes Bylaws of the Wildwater Committee Subscribe to E-Zine Article Submission Guidelines ICF Rules ICF Rules - 2008 Update Resources for Event Directors
2016 Wildwater Calendar Archives
Want Ads Vendors Reviews & Repairs
USA Wildwater USA Canoe/Kayak Coaches/Mentors
Current Team Members Former Team Members/Athletes    Each of us has felt passionate about one thing or another -- something that drives us toward higher achievement, tests our mettle as human beings, and provides an arena for excellence. We have found our arena in Wildwater.

USAWildwater News: Information is power.

This news service is free! Sign up now for free email updates from our news desk.

2010 USA Wildwater World Championship Team

Chairman's view

by John Pinyerd
USA Canoe/Kayak
Wildwater Committee Chairman

May 31, 2010 -- Marietta, GA

I'm extremely proud of the 2010 USA Wildwater World Championship Team. Who are the athletes to watch? ALL of them. See the complete team information at

I think the USA will do quite well. You can stay tuned into what they are doing at

Tom Wier is leading our team as an athlete. He was very strong at our Team Trials and is on track for his best Worlds ever. Tom races very well in big water and the longer Classic course like we will have in Sort play to his strengths.

Of course, Tyler Hinton races quite will in big water and it will be exciting to see how he stacks up.

Colton and Bryson Popp (Team Popp) are coming on strong too in C-2 and Haley Popp in K-1W.

Our Masters won 5 medals in 5 races in 2008 and I expect a similar repeat in 2010:

  • Jeanie Goldberg (K-1W) is a great boater at any age and will be awesome in Master's competition.
  • Maurizio Tognacci (K-1) won silver in 08 and I believe he has a great change to see his efforts turn golden!
  • Ditto for David Jones and Michael Harris who won Bronze in 08.
The Sort Worlds promise to be an incredible event. Heck, I wish I was going to be there with them. Wow, maybe Borg 2012.

John Pinyerd
USA Wildwater - Chairman