January 31, 2010

You are receiving this email because you have subscribed to the email list. If you wish to unsubscribe, please reply to this email with "unsubscribe" as the subject. Feel free to forward this email to others interested in Wildwater! If you are having difficulty viewing this email, please copy and paste the following URL into your browser:

Dear Wildwater Racers and Friends:

Welcome to the first e-Zine for 2010.

The first news is the results of the election of the 2010/2011 USACK Wildwater Committee (WWC). Congratulations to the winners and thank you to those who were nominated but did not win. We appreciate your willingness to dedicate your time and efforts to USA Wildwater. We also greatly appreciate the work that was done by the outgoing committee members -- David Jones, Denny Adams, and Chrissy Zeltner.

One of the first tasks of the WWC was recruiting athletes to serve as Members-at-Large. Read the second article for more about who was recruited and what jobs they agreed to do.

The WWC held their first meeting on January 23rd. One of the key outcomes of the meeting was the creation and approval of the 2010 USACK Wildwater Budget. A significant portion of the budget is $7,000 in team funding.

We rely on private donations for the funds to support USA Wildwater. Now it is easier for you to donate to USA Wildwater. Just go to our home page at and click on the bright orange "Donate" button to learn how you can contribute online or by sending us a check.

The Final 2009 Wildwater Rankings are also available on our website. The top 5 in each class are:

  • C-1M: Tom Wier, John Pinyerd, Jack Ditty, Chris Osment and Craig Adams (Jr)
  • C-1W: Hailey Thompson (Jr) and Rebecca Moore (Jr)
  • C-2: Rich Roehner/Mike Baker, Wiegand/Borst/Staszko, John Pinyerd/Rob Murphy, Ben Peters/Liam Malakoff (Jr): and Gaudet/Kieft(Jr)
  • K-1M: Peter Lutter (Jr), Geoff Calhoun, Andrew McEwan, Chris Hipgrave and Kurt Smithgall (Jr)
  • K-1W: Tierney O'Sullivan, MacKenzie Hatcher (Jr), Haley Popp (Jr), Chara Whittemore and Sierra O'Brien (Jr)
It is great to see several Juniors placing so high in the rankings.

The first event on our 2010 calendar, the "Chute The Hooch Wildwater Training Camp", is now history. Read all about it in the article below. Next up is the "Glacier Breaker and Team Trials Training Camp" to be held on February 27-28 on the Nantahala River. (Link:

In other news, we have information about the 2010 Junior Olympics (including a list of qualifying events), a "Thank You" letter to Canoe Tasmania and Hydro Tasmania for hosting the 2009 Wildwater World Cup, and a link to information about the search for a new USACK CEO.

I hope that you are looking forward to participating in WIldwater racing in 2010!!

Chuck Brabec
Editor & Webmaster,

In this issue:

Presenting the 2010/2011 USACK Wildwater Committee
and thank you to the outgoing Committee members

USA Wildwater Committee Adds Four At-Large Directors to the Board

Minutes of the January 23rd Meeting of the WWC
Includes a link to the Approved 2010 Budget

Final 2009 USA Wildwater Rankings
Check the 2009 Wildwater Calendar to see which races are included in the rankings

2010 Chute The Hooch Wildwater Training Camp and Race Wrap-up

U.S. Junior Olympics Festival 2010
July 10-18 at the Nantahala Outdoor Center

Thanks to Canoe Tasmania and Hydro Tasmania
for hosting the 2009 Wildwater World Cup

USA Canoe/Kayak - CEO Search Begins